Sunday, 22 December 2013

Yog (Indian concept ) from net

Yog has been derived from the Sanskrit word Yuj that means ‘To Join ’ and in hindi language the word ‘Yog’ means ‘Total’. Hence when the word itself means total then there is no use dividing it but still as Yog is one of the most ancient sciences hence from time to time many changes have been made due to which different schools of Yog evolved. The Sanskrit word ‘Yuj’ means ‘to join’ and this is the final aim of Yog… ‘to join’ to join the personal soul to the universal and whatever school we choose the destination is same just like the different rivers flow through different paths, enjoy different journeys, different areas and finally blend into the same destination… the ocean. Similarly whatever school a yog sadhak chooses but finally the destination is same. Five authentic schools of yog are:

Raj Yog: 

It is an eight fold yog  prescribed by Maharishi Patanjali, to introduce and educate the yog seeker with behavioral, social, intellectual, mental, physical, philosophical and spiritual aspects of yog. These eight folds are:

1- YAAM - Self restrains Five Yaam are mentioned in Yog Darshan. These five self restrains are :

  • Ahinsa Non violence (there are 6 kind of violence- Kaya, vacha. Manah, krit, karit, anumodit)
  • Satya truthfulness
  • Asteya non stealing
  • Brahmcharya celebacy
  • Aparigrah non storing
2- NIYAAM - Self observances.Five Niyaam are mentioned in Yog Darshan. These five self observances are:
  • Shauch Purity (internal, external, physical, mental, psychological)
  • Santosh Contentment
  • Tapah Resistance
  • Swadhyaay Self study
Ishvarpranidhaan Leaving everything to the will of God

3- ASAAN control over body

4-PRANAYAAM Control over breath

5- PRATYAHAAR Control over senses

6-DHARANA Concentration

7-DHYAAN Meditation

8-SAMADHI Identification with pure consciousness

Hath Yog

Hath yog is six fold path of yogic discipline with noted masters such as Gheranda Rishi, Guru Gorakshnath, matsyendra nath and Swatmaram etc. It is more or less closer to Raj Yog as it is assumed that in contemporary society of ancient times Yaam and Niyaam were deep rooted and necessity of their separate mention was perhaps not realized. There is a misconception and exaggeration regarding Hath Yog that it is all about performing tough postures with excessive outlook and is even mistaken as HOT YOGA putting the yog seekers to tough exercises in rooms under high temperature but opposite to this Hath Yog is based on science of swaras, the energy flow in left and right nostrils of an individual named as ida and pingala or surya and Chandra naadi i.e. the sun and the moon.

Gyaan Yog

The basis of gyaan yog is to lead the yog seeker to salvation through intellectual power to realize the self and liberate from the bondages of ignorance where ultimate truth alone survives.

Karm Yog

Karm Yog is the path suggested by Lord Krishn establishing the importance of Karm and seeking bliss through devotion to Karm without indulging in the aspirations of expectations. It removes the myths that yog leads an individual away from worldly duties on the contrary it equips him with perfect wisdom and skill to go deep in karm and still staying aloof being detached with the fruits. This lesson of karm Yog was given in the battle field of famous Mahabharat where great warrior Arjun had withdrawn from his duty in the battle field under deep stress and depression.

Bhakti Yog

Though appears as different school of thought Bhakti Yog also has the same goal to achieve and that is meeting and merging into divine but the doors of bhakti Yog are open even for those who are not intellectuals as even Gyan Yog also lead us to merge into divinity through realization by intellectual methods of bhakt or a devotee like Meera, Raidas, Nanak and even illiterate Kabir could attain this consciousness through Bhakti Yog. On records there is no individual to be mentioned as founder of the path of Bhakti Yog but the examples of series of Bhaktas turned into realized souls declair Bhakti or devotion as a sacred path to realization of the ultimate goal of Yog.

Other than these  more Inner vibrational  and nonvisible  from nacked eyes yogas are there like wise Dhyan yog ,  Prem yog , Bhav yog , Sankalp yog   the  yoga of yoga .  

The yoga itself means of Sankalp 

fb note 23 December 2013 at 11:17 AM


No comments:

Post a comment